(June 18, 2013 – Toronto, ON) New Damage Records is proud to announce the addition of Milwaukee metal band Misery Signals to their expanding roster in Canada. One of the year’s most anticipated releases, Misery Signals first album in five years Absent Light will be unleashed on July 23rd in Canada. To get a little taste of the new record, the band has just released a clip from the track “Reborn (an execution)”. To check out the track visit:

Foregoing the traditional record label release model, Misery Signals launched an Indiegogo campaign in March to work directly with fans to crowd-fund the new album by offering unique funding packages that included handwritten lyrics, vinyl box set, music lessons, listening parties and more.  By May, the band had not only reached their funding goal, but had surpassed it by double the amount. The support was a definite sign that fans were eagerly awaiting new music from the seminal band.

“We were floored by the excitement from the people supporting the album,” guitarist Ryan Morgan says.  “It’s a good feeling to have an audience matching the enthusiasm we are putting into it’s creation – and they haven’t even heard it yet!  It’ll all come together when they get to hear how insane this album is.”
A largely self-produced effort, mixed by trailblazing studio maestro Steve Evetts (The Cure, Glassjaw, Sepultura), Absent Light wasn’t bound by creative limitations, label pressure or outside expectation. The symbolism on Absent Light is thick and rich, from the trenches of war to the taste of ashes, burned out gaslights to the bewilderment of regret and closure. The recurring theme is one of losing your way with an object of attachment. Buoyed by a real-life 40-string ensemble with real instruments (the Morgans’ father has spent decades with the Madison Symphony Orchestra) and even more exotic musical tools throughout, Absent Light retains the cinematic-sounding ambition that saw Revolver once compare Misery Signals to Sigur Rós.

Misery Signals
 is comprised of three of its founding members: Ryan Morgan on guitar, Branden Morgan on drums, newly returned bassist Kyle Johnson, as well as Gregory Thomas on guitar and Karl  Schubach on vocals. The band got their start in 2002 and quickly gained notoriety after releasing 2004’s critically acclaimed record Of Malice and the Magnum Heart; an album which breathed fresh life into their genre with the band’s signature style of aggressive riffs, melodic bridges and atmospheric elements and went on to be one of the most influential metalcore album’s of the last decade. Over the next several years the band released two more albums, Mirrors (2006) and Controller (2008), which were both equally praised by the metal community and further cemented their place among metal’s elite bands.

Misery Signals
 will kick off their record release tour in July with dates running through mid-August. Full Canadian tour dates are below.
Misery Signals’ “Absent Light Record Release Tour” Canadian Dates:
07.11.13 – Montreal, QC – Underworld
07.12.13 – Toronto, ON – The Annex Wreckroom
07.13.13 – Guelph, ON – Vinyl
07.14.13 – Hamilton, ON – Absinthe
07.15.13 – St. Catharines, ON – L3
07.16.13 – London, ON – Rum Runners (London Music Hall)
08.06.13 – Vancouver, BC – The Roxy
08.07.13 – Kelowna, BC – Level (Upstairs)
08.08.13 – Calgary, AB – Dickens
08.09.13 – Edmonton, AB – Avenue Theatre
08.11.13 – Regina, SK – The Exchange

Related Posts: